About Me

Anna Markland

Thank you for visiting my website. I’m a Canadian author with a keen interest in genealogy. I write medieval romance about family honour, ancestry, and roots. My novels are intimate love stories full of passion and adventure.

Passion conquers whatever obstacles a hostile medieval world can throw in its path. My page-turning adventures have earned me a place on Amazon’s All-Star list.

Besides writing, I have two addictions-crosswords and genealogy, probably the reason I love research. I am a fool for cats. My husband is an entrepreneur who is fond of boasting he’s never had a job.

I live on Canada’s scenic west coast now, but I was born and raised in the UK and I love breathing life into the history of my homeland.

Escape with me to where romance began. A good place to start is with the four books of The Montbryce Legacy Series recount stories of the lives and loves of a noble Norman family through successive generations.

The three books of the Sons of Rhodri series introduce readers to the Welsh villain turned hero, Rhodri, and his descendants.

The FitzRam Family series comprises three stories about the children of the hero of A Man of Value.

In The Next Generation readers are introduced to three “Wounded Warriors”- heroes with physical challenges.

If you prefer to read sagas in chronological order, here’s a handy list for the Montbryce family books.

Conquering Passion—Ram and Mabelle, Rhodri and Rhonwen

If Love Dares Enough—Hugh and Devona, Antoine and Sybilla

Defiant Passion-Rhodri and Rhonwen

A Man of Value—Caedmon and Agneta

Dark Irish Knight—Ronan and Rhoni

Haunted Knights—Adam and Rosamunda, Denis and Paulina

Passion in the Blood—Robert and Dorianne, Baudoin and Carys

Dark and Bright—Rhys and Annalise

The Winds of the Heavens—Rhun and Glain, Rhydderch and Isolda

Dance of Love—Izzy and Farah

Carried Away—Blythe and Dieter

Sweet Taste of Love—Aidan and Nolana

Wild Viking Princess—Ragna and Reider

Hearts and Crowns—Gallien and Peridotte

Fatal Truths—Alex and Elayne

Sinful Passions—Bronson and Grace; Rodrick and Swan


Series featuring the stories of the Viking ancestors of my Norman families

The Rover Bold—Bryk and Cathryn

The Rover Defiant—Torstein and Sonja

The Rover Betrayed—Magnus and Judith


Caledonia Chronicles (Scotland)

Book I Pride of the Clan—Rheade and Margaret

Book II Highland Tides—Braden and Charlotte

Book 2.5 Highland Dawn—Keith and Aurora (a Kindle Worlds book)

Book III Roses Among the Heather—Blair &Susanna, Craig & Timothea


The Von Wolfenberg Dynasty (medieval Europe)

Book 1 Loyal Heart—Sophia and Brandt

Book 2 Courageous Hearts—Luther and Francesca

Book 3 Faithful Heart—Kon and Zara



Maknab’s Revenge—Ingram and Ruby

Passion’s Fire—Matthew and Brigandine in Hearts Aflame

Banished—Sigmar and Audra

Hungry Like De Wolfe—Blaise and Anne—Kindle Worlds

An Unkissable Knight—Dervenn and Victorine in The Kissing Bough


If you like stories with medieval breeds of dogs, you’ll enjoy If Love Dares Enough, Carried Away, Fatal Truths, and Wild Viking Princess. If you have a soft spot for cats, read Passion in the Blood and Haunted Knights.


Looking for historical fiction centered on a certain region?

English History—all books

Norman French History—all books

Crusades—A Man of Value

Welsh History—Conquering Passion, Defiant Passion, Dark and Bright, The Winds of the Heavens

Scottish History—Conquering Passion, A Man of Value, Sweet Taste of Love, Caledonia Chronicles Series

European History (Holy Roman Empire)—Carried Away, Loyal Heart, Courageous Heart

Danish History—Wild Viking Princess

Spanish History—Dance of Love

Ireland—Dark Irish Knight


If you like to read about historical characters:

William the Conqueror—Conquering Passion, If Love Dares Enough, Defiant Passion

William Rufus—A Man of Value

Robert Curthose, Duke of Normandy—Passion in the Blood

Henry I of England—Passion in the Blood, Sweet Taste of Love, Haunted Knights, Hearts and Crowns

Heinrich V, Holy Roman Emperor—Carried Away

Vikings—Wild Viking Princess, The Rover Bold, The Rover Defiant, The Rover Betrayed

Kings of Aragon (Spain)—Dance of Love

The Anarchy (England) (Stephen vs. Maud)—Hearts and Crowns, Fatal Truths, Sinful Passions

James I of Scotland—Pride of the Clan

Jacobites & Mary, Queen of Scots—Highland Tides

Happy Reading!

Anna Markland's signature